Thursday, June 25, 2015

The Wonder of You by Susan May Warren

About the Book:

Mortified after her semester abroad is cut short, Amelia Christiansen returns to Deep Haven, certain she isn’t brave enough for the adventures she’s dreamed of. The last thing she expects is for the man who broke her heart to cross the Atlantic and beg forgiveness.

Heir to a European hotel dynasty, Roark St. John has trekked from one exotic locale to another, haunted by tragedy and the expectations that accompany his last name. Amelia is the first woman to give him a reason to stop running. He’ll do anything for a second chance—even contend with Amelia’s old flame, who is intent on sending Roark packing.

While one surprise after another leaves Amelia reeling, Roark’s continued presence only highlights the questions pursuing her. Like him, is she running from the life God has called her to? Could finding her new place mean leaving home behind?

My Thoughts:

I must disclose something to you, my reading friends:  I have yet to read a novel by Susan May Warren that didn't end up an outstanding reading experience.  But I must also admit, I absolutely adore the Christianson Family Series far more than any other series she has crafted.

Do not make the mistake of labeling this series as romantic fiction.  To do so would not even come close to describing the message of the books.  Yes, romantic elements are a part of the stories.  But only a part.  To capture the essence of Susan's novels, one must go deeper in describing them.

It's best to call these books real life fiction, which on the surface seems like an oxymoron, or a paradox.  But trust me.  Susan breathes such power into her characters and her words that these novels read like biographies of living people.

So, when Amelia feels as if she has failed in her grand adventure of life, expect to feel defeated as you read along.  When Roark comes half way across the world to prove himself to Amelia and her family, expect to feel challenged and a bit treasured.

And when Seth throws out his chest and tries to stake his claim on Amelia's heart, prepare to feel defensive, conflicted, and torn.  Whatever emotion Susan has written into the story, you can be assured you will feel it to the very marrow of who you are.

Something else Susan does that makes this series so powerful is her continuity. We met Darek and Ivy in the first novel, and we spend time with them in every story, and they remain real and alive as if we'd just visited over dinner last week with them.

The same goes for the other Christianson siblings: Eden, Caspar, Owen, Grace, Darek and Amelia are all present and accounted for in each new novel.  "The Wonder of You" has Amelia in the spotlight, but be prepared to learn a lot more about Grace and Max, our spotlight couple from another previous book.

I don't even have to think about it when Susan has a new book releasing.  Before the ink dries on the page, I've pre-ordered my copy and eagerly await a captivating and engaging story.  In fact, I'm kind of sad that Owen's story will close the chapter on this amazing and perfectly flawed clan.

Do yourself a favor, and put all of The Christianson Family novels on your "to be read" shelf, and prepare for an incredible reading journey.  You won't want to move away from Deep Haven once you're done.

I may have to look into buying a home in that little town.  "The Wonder of You" (and previous books) is highly, highly recommended.

Happy Reading!



Sell Used Books - Have Your Books Shipped To Us For Free And Get Fast Cash Back!

1 comment:

SusieMay said...

Thank you so much for this awesome review!! You so blessed me today with your sweet words -- come and join me in Deep Haven - we'll have coffee! :)