Tuesday, November 25, 2014

How to Survive Middle School and Monster Bots by Ron Bates

About the Book:

Sometimes, being smart just isn’t enough

It’s been a rough semester for Howard Boward, science genius. Not only is he having to dodge winter’s most feared weapon (snowballs), his close friend, Winnie Mc Kinney, is barely speaking to him.

If that weren’t enough, he’s the favorite target of some bullies who seem determined to make life at Dolley Madison Middle School as miserable as possible. But then Howard learns about an upcoming robot-building contest—finally a chance to show off his science skills and beat archrival Gerald “G-Force” Forster!

Unfortunately, the only way to win is by using his secret “monster goo,” a formula that has terrifying side effects. Can Howard resist the temptation? Or will he unleash a robot rampage that could destroy the town—and ruin the school dance?

My Thoughts:

I knew from reading the back cover copy that I wasn't in the target audience for this one.  But I've heard many complaints from readers on how difficult it is to find good reading for boys in the Christian marketplace.  I remember having a hard time when my son was younger, so I thought I'd check Howard Boward out.

I was right...I'm not the target demographic for this book.  But it is well written, and will have a high appeal to fans of "Captain Underpants", "Diary of a Wimpy Kid" and other book series that fit that genre.

The book is witty, packed with dry humor and plays on words.  The story is easy to relate to....who hasn't been picked on in school (and if you are the picker on-er....find a new hobby, please).  Howard might be a genius, but brains alone can't solve problems.

It takes Someone bigger than ourselves to help us navigate life.  My only wish for "How to Survive" would have been that message.  Still, the story is fun, clean and engaging for the guys.

My thanks to my friends at Zondervan Publishing for my copy in exchange for an honest review.  Recommended.

Happy Reading!



Sell Used Books - Have Your Books Shipped To Us For Free And Get Fast Cash Back!

No comments: